New at the Library
MLA CitationAPA Citation
This is the "Citation" page of the "Bishop Feehan Library Home Page" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Bishop Feehan Library Home Page  

Last Updated: Jan 26, 2017 URL: http://bishopfeehan.libguides.com/home Print Guide RSS Updates

Citation Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Annotated Bibliography

Annotated Bibliography Samples

Overview

For a sample of an entry from an annotated bibliography entry in PDF, click on the downloadable file in the media box above.

Below you will find sample annotations from annotated bibliographies, each with a different research project. Remember that the annotations you include in your own bibliography should reflect your research project and/or the guidelines of your assignment.

As mentioned elsewhere in this resource, depending on the purpose of your bibliography, some annotations may summarize, some may assess or evaluate a source, and some may reflect on the source’s possible uses for the project at hand. Some annotations may address all three of these steps. Consider the purpose of your annotated bibliography and/or your instructor’s directions when deciding how much information to include in your annotations.

Please keep in mind that all your text, including the write-up beneath the citation, must be indented so that the author's last name is the only text that is flush left.

Sample MLA Annotation

Lamott, Anne. Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life. New York: Anchor Books, 1995. Print.

   Lamott's book offers honest advice on the nature of a writing life, complete with its insecurities and failures. Taking a humorous approach to the    realities of being a writer, the chapters in Lamott's book are wry and anecdotal and offer advice on everything from plot development to jealousy, from    perfectionism to struggling with one's own internal critic. In the process, Lamott includes writing exercises designed to be both productive and fun.
   Lamott offers sane advice for those struggling with the anxieties of writing, but her main project seems to be offering the reader a reality check regarding    writing, publishing, and struggling with one's own imperfect humanity in the process. Rather than a practical handbook to producing and/or publishing,    this text is indispensable because of its honest perspective, its down-to-earth humor, and its encouraging approach.
   Chapters in this text could easily be included in the curriculum for a writing class. Several of the chapters in Part 1 address the writing process and    would serve to generate discussion on students' own drafting and revising processes. Some of the writing exercises would also be appropriate for    generating classroom writing exercises. Students should find Lamott's style both engaging and enjoyable.

In the sample annotation above, the writer includes three paragraphs: a summary, an evaluation of the text, and a reflection on its applicability to his/her own research, respectively.

For information on formatting MLA citations, see our MLA 2009 Formatting and Style Guide.

 

Bibliography Samples

 

Citation Tutorials

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip